Book Review: Her Secret Life by Tiffany L. Warren


Essence ®bestselling author and  RT award-winning author Tiffany L. Warren is back with a new novel that weaves together soap opera-worthy drama with an inspirational twist—perfect for fans of ReShonda Tate Billingsley and Victoria Christopher Murray.



Paperback, 320 pages
Published: April 25th 2017 by Dafina Books
ISBN13: 9781496708724
ASIN: B01JEJCA64

Scarred by poverty and life with a crackhead mother, Onika Lewis had a rough start. Still, thanks to her sharp mind, and hard work, she graduated with honors from a prestigious college. But her achievements weren't enough to earn her the elite status she craved. So she leveraged her gorgeous looks to become a rich man's trophy...and was eventually dumped her for a younger model. Now Onika is unemployed, broke--and homeless. She's making a fresh start through a unique women's shelter, but when she meets Graham, a kind-hearted commuter with whom she has an instant connection, she can't bring herself to tell him her secret...

Suddenly Onika has someone who cares about who she is beyond her looks. Graham's unselfish love gives her the kind of hope she's never had. But when Onika's wealthy ex wants her back, she plays one deception too many trying to have it all. Now present lies and past secrets are tearing her world apart. And Onika will need to educate herself once more--to learn what really matters, find faith, forgiveness--and build a life she truly deserves.




Onika Lewis was conceived into an existence created with destitution. It was a battle to survive and grow emotionally, especially with the candidly maladroit woman who raised her. Tired of the derision and disdain, Onika mendaciously leveraged her beauty and brains. After being awarded a full scholarship to a prestigious college, she left her hometown with her heart set on becoming one of the black elite.

In the wake of reshaping herself to fit in with the prim and proper girls at college, everything was going well. Then, her life changed after one summer. Onika’s lies, so precisely intertwined with another, began to unravel one thread at a time.

“Owning your own tragedies” is my favorite quote from the book.

I simply adore and applaud Warren for not shying away from addressing issues many black women face regarding Christianity and real life issues.  Throughout this book, Onika’s emotional and psychological journey drive the plot. Her battle to put her past behind her, without accommodation to its effect on her and those around her, is the central theme. Notwithstanding the many chances she had to reveal the truth, her consistent lies erected an almost impenetrable barrier to her living the life she so desperately desired.

★★★★★

Author's Bibliography



Felicia Caldwell has a great job, a healthy bank account, and stunning good looks. But she longs for a husband and family to go along with it. So when charismatic superstar pastor Nya Hempstead declares that partnership is on its way, Felicia is elated—until her life becomes filled with more curses than blessings. Five years later, someone has to pay—and that someone is Nya. Soon, Felicia is moving to Dallas and joins the church led by Nya and her co-pastor husband, Gregory…

In the eyes of the public, Nya and Gregory have the perfect life. But their marriage is feeling the strain of Nya’s success. While she’s hitting the talk show circuit and the bestseller list, Gregory is fading into the background. It’s no surprise he enjoys the fawning attention of new church member, Felicia. Little does he know her intentions are far from pure. And as she infiltrates the pastors’ lives it will take a team of prayer warriors and heavenly intervention to save their relationship—and their ministry. Along the way, will they remember the mission they started with?



Do family, faith--and fame--go together?

They're handsome, smart, and musically gifted. Brothers Camden and Blaine Wilson have put their talents together and founded a gospel group. The quieter one, Camden is the songwriter, while charismatic Blaine is the performer. At first, their Reverend father is against the idea--until Blaine, his favorite, wows the congregation at a church revival. Sure enough, once the reverend witnesses their effect on the crowd he wants them there every Sunday. But he may have set the stage for trouble. . .

As the group's popularity grows, so do the groupies--and promiscuous Blaine is more than happy to share his love. Gigs across the country, meetings with music execs, a chance to sign with a major label, and a sexy new band member bring new connections--and dangerous new temptations. Soon, a slew of rumors and a shocking betrayal threaten to destroy the group--and the brothers' relationship. But one event is going to rock their world forever. Do they have enough faith, forgiveness, and brotherly love left to find harmony once more?...


In this page-turning new novel from Essence® bestselling author Tiffany L. Warren, Atlanta's most eligible widower isn't looking to remarry--but for one woman, that's a mere detail. . .

Five years after his beloved wife's death, wealthy Quentin Chambers still hasn't returned to the church or his music ministry. Even his home is now devoid of music, and without his attention, Quentin's five children are getting out of control--until his mother steps in and hires him a live-in nanny. Montana is pretty, compassionate, church-going, and even has a beautiful singing voice. The children take to her right away, and soon enough Quentin finds his heart opening to faith--and love--once more. But not everyone loves Montana. . .

A "friend" of Quentin's first wife, Chloe has been scheming to become the next Mrs. Chambers since the funeral. Chloe is convinced she's just one seduction away from a marriage proposal. Now she'll do whatever it takes to get rid of Montana--including blackmail, theft--and digging up a troublemaking man from Montana's past. But Chloe forgets she's got secrets of her own, and the tables may turn with a twist she never sees coming. . .


In this powerful new novel, the trio of faithful friends from Tiffany L. Warren’s inspirational bestseller What a Sista Should Do are older—but are they wiser?...
Once successful, Pam Lyon’s husband, Troy, has blown their fortune. Now he’s hustling to make a comeback. But his partner, Logan, is more interested in connecting with Pam—and soon he crosses a line that will challenge Pam’s marriage…

Taylor Oldman’s ex, Luke, is finally out of prison and wants a relationship with their eleven-year-old son. But newly remarried Taylor doesn't want Luke in her life. The problem is, the boy is acting out—and Luke is the only one who can reach him. Can Taylor forgive Luke for the sake of their child?...

Recently divorced, Yvonne Hastings is lonely for the first time in years. She finds solace by befriending new church member Eva Logan. Eva is trying to leave behind her scandalous past, but it seems she can’t let go of everything. And when her behavior starts to affect Yvonne, she’ll have to reflect on what it means to be a good friend in and out of church…

As their personal lives test them like never before, can these three women find a way to keep the faith—and their friendship?...

Tiffany L. Warren is an author, playwright, songwriter, mother and wife. Her debut novel, What a Sista Should Do, was released in June of 2005. Her second book, Farther than I Meant to Go, Longer than I Meant to Stay was a national bestseller. She is also the author of The Bishop's Daughter and In The Midst of It All. In 2006, Tiffany and her husband, Brent, founded Warren Productions and released gospel musicals, What a Sista Should Do and The Replacement Wife. Tiffany is the visionary behind the Faith and Fiction Retreat. Tiffany resides in northern Texas with her husband, Brent, and their five children. 

Popular Posts